Parish Priest: Canon Michael Dennehy Vicar General and Moderator of Curia of Portsmouth Diocese
Assistant Priest: Fr George Lyons. aaaaHospital Chaplaincy & Assisting Priest: Fr Richard Maniak
Part of the Pastoral area of English Martyrs and St James & St William of York
|Home||Services||Sacraments||Links||Rotas||Gallery 1||Hall Hire|
|Gift Aid Form||Contacts||Parish Directory||Events Calendar||Newsletters||Gallery 2|
Tel 0118 942 8632.
Reg. Charity No.246871
A Brief History of St Joseph's
In the time before the Reformation St Michael's in New Lane Hill, St Nicholas' at Sulham and St Laurence's at Tidmarsh were all Catholic churches. However after the Reformation, it was not until the latter half of the 20th century that Tilehurst was again able to boast a Catholic church of it's own.
When St James' was built in 1837-40 it was the first legal Catholic church to open in the area in 300 years since the Reformation, and it was another century before the parish was divided and the Church of the English Martyrs was built near to Prospect Park.
The new church was still quite a trek from Tilehurst and in 1935 Mr and Mrs
The Catholic population of Tilehurst had increased by the start of the Second
In 1950 Father William Kirk was appointed parish priest at English Martyrs
Work began in Park Lane in August 1955 on a building designed for both
But in 1966 St Joseph's was made a parish in its own right and Father Colm